The Australian Chamber Orchestra Collective presents The Lark Ascending


Performing “The Lark Ascending” in a very special concert of beauty and spirit.

Bass Coast Shire Council and The Australian Chamber Orchestra present the ACO Collective playing this eternal favourite as the centrepiece of an uplifting program directed by ACO Principal Violin Helena Rathbone. With its soaring melodies and joyful trills, Ralph Vaughan Williams creates a radiant portrait of a lark in flight, trailing a silver chain of sound as it rises. Bound to the ground, we can only bask in its beauty.

Rathbone has guided the ACO Collective since its founding in 2007, offering audiences across the country the opportunity to hear Australia’s brightest young talent in concert alongside members of the ACO.

The program spans five centuries from Henry Purcell’s Fantasia Upon One Note to Max Richter’s cinematic On the Nature of Daylight. Continuing its commitment to fostering Australian voices, the ACO Collective will premiere a new commission by award-winning Australian composer Anne Cawrse, sought after for her appealing, approachable sound.

The concert closes with Suk’s glowing Serenade for Strings. Inspired by Dvorák and Brahms, it is the sound of pure happiness. Chosen for their beauty and spirit, these six works will set your heart aflight.

“The collective sound of ACO Collective is exquisite and homogenous, a tribute to the musicians of the Australian Chamber Orchestra, who have sought these rare talents.” – THE SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

Date: Sunday 12th May - 2pm

Location: Berninneit, 91-97 Thompson Ave, Cowes

Tickets: $15-$35

May 2024

  • Sunday 12th (2:00pm - 3:40pm)